Free-Speech Fridays

So I have been feeling really claustrophobic online recently.

In light of my new endeavours, I have found that I have to censor myself a lot. A lot of the things I would normally say freely on facebook and even on this blog, I can no longer say because they might offend the wrong someone. If you know me personally – and by that I mean, if you have ever been on the wrong end of my frustration – you know that I don’t mince words.

So you can understand how I feel having to edit or even delete comments or posts because of the impression they might have on people. I can’t talk about certain topics because people might get the wrong (or right) impression of me. I can’t say how I feel about certain books I’ve read because someone might be offended. The result is that I blog less, comment less, and participate less in a lot of social media. The only thing I hate more than having to censor myself is being fake. I won’t do it.

And from this place came Free-Speech Fridays. This is the one day of the week I will blog whatever I want to say, uncensored. If you’re super sensetive know to avoid the above labelled posts. I remember when the great thing about social media and the online world was that there was a niche for everyone and people could be themselves. Somehow in the business of image management we have strayed away from that.

It’s time to bring it back.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

