Higher Thoughts: A shelter in the time of snow

Psalm 46:1 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. (NIV)

I love winter. The clean crisp air. The shimmery white snow. My cute winter boots. I however hate winter driving. I hate everything about it, from the snow shovelling, to the cold car seats, to being stuck in snow banks. And this week I had the joy of experiencing all this and more when I drove my friend to school in London from Toronto. The two and a half hours it took us to drive down went fairly well on the barely cleared roads, until we tried to turn into a plaza and got stuck in a pile of snow at the entrance. I tried to drive through it, but the new all season tires on the car weren’t getting us anywhere. I reversed a little and tried to go another direction. Still nothing. My friend got out to push. Nada. So there we were, two girls and a Ford Fiesta, stuck in the snow.

Have you ever felt like this? Like you were in a situation and nothing you do can get you out of it? You try to find solutions to your problem but nothing you try seems to work? You even ask friends to help you and they try, but they can’t? I think those are the moments when God most wants to help us. When no one else can give us what we need, this is when He shows us that He is all we need, and that if we surrender to Him he will take care of everything. And just as God sent a man in an orange car to help me and my friend out of our snow bank, He will send the help you need just when you need it. “God is a safe place to hide, ready to help when we need him.”(Ps 46:1, The Message)

This entry was posted in church, Gospel, Life, religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

