Higher Thoughts: It all counts

There’s a man at the Kennedy Subway Station in Toronto who stands at the escalators telling people, “Jesus loves you”. I see him in the morning sometimes – around 7am when I am passing through Kennedy Station – and I sometimes also see him in the evenings on my way home. I can’t help but wonder about him. Does he have a job? Does he have a family? Responsibilities? How does he find time to do this so often? Doesn’t he even care that almost no one looks at him, and those that do look at him as if he’s strange? Is he even making a difference?

I ask myself that last question a lot: Am I even making a difference? When I tell new people I meet that I’m a Christian. When I resist using the ‘s’, ‘f’, ‘p’ and other bombs in my conversation even though everyone else around me does. When I leave out the sex and profanity in my novels. Does it matter that I dress a little different, that my weekend entertainment is a little different? Does it affect my people in any way? Do they even care?

I am sure many of us ask ourselves these same questions every now and then. And the truth is there are no standard answers. To some people it may never matter. They may never even notice the difference. But to others it will. They will notice the things you say and don’t say, the things you do and don’t do, and it will plant seeds. In most cases you will never even know. So keep doing what you’re doing, because just like the man at Kennedy Station, you can never really know who’s watching and listening.

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” – Galatians 6:9

This entry was posted in church, Gospel, Life, religion, social responsibility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Higher Thoughts: It all counts

  1. This is so true. I would even say that He made a difference in that, his standing there faithfully, caused you to think about his actions and yours, so much so that it moved you to right about it. Ultimately, the only thing that matters is your heart in the things you do, if in your heart you’re doing to to the glory of God. He’ll see it and handle the rest. I enjoyed your blog, I’m new to this, but I look forward to popping in on what you have to say!

    • Rhonda Bowen says:

      You are right – his making me think by his actions does mean that in some way he was effective. I never thought of it like that. Thanks for sharing Sitovea!

  2. Molly Loggins says:

    Thanks for sharing your observation and reflection with your fans!

Leave a Reply

