Making solid investments

VW-Hippie-2The other day I parked my car at the bank and was walking away when I noticed a rust spot on one of the doors. It was a small spot but knowing how rust spreads I decided to inquire at the bodywork shop next door about what could be done. As I walked around the car with one of the guys from the shop I noticed for the first time a consistent layer of rust underneath the side of the car, an area that had been nicely concealed by layers of snow for the past six months. When the guy gave me an estimate of how much it would cost to fix it I was shocked. I imagine that I would have been plenty upset had I paid many thousands for my car. But since I hadn’t invested very much into it I wasn’t too distraught. 

I imagine this is what Jesus is talking about when He warns us not to store up treasures on earth. Think of how upset you feel when you get ripped off on a purchase, when your car gets scratched, or when a pair of shoes, your smartphone, your laptop, your home gets seriously damaged. It is so easy for value to be lost from these material and temporal things. This is why Jesus tells us to store up our treasures in heaven. But what does that mean?

I was watching a video the other day of people talking about their experience as foster parents. One father described taking care of children who need temporary homes as storing up treasures in heaven. It occurs to me that when Jesus tells us to store up treasures in heaven part of it probably involves investing in people. When we invest in the lives of others we place value in a place where it cannot be stolen away. What we build in the lives of others will not develop rust or mold. It will not expire or depreciate over time, but rather it will increase in value many times over.

As you go through this week I invite you to find ways to add value to others. Spend time with someone who can do nothing to help you. Give a gift to someone who cannot give one to you in return. Do something for someone that is of absolutely no benefit to you. Invest in people. Store up treasures in heaven. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy,and where thieves break in and steal.But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven,where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. – Matthew 6:19-21

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

