Higher Thoughts: Pre-Problem Solutions

Funny-Elephant-cartoon-9I have the memory of an elephant. An elephant with short term memory loss. So in order to ensure that I get things accomplished I have to make lists and use calendars and the like to remind myself of what I need to do. It doesn’t help that I usually have a million things going on from week to week. Between my ever-changing work schedule, my activities at church, appointments with my family, favors for friends, and the volunteering I manage to squeeze in, I can barely keep track.

With the start of school this month it has been a challenge to keep things straight. For example, last week an old school professor asked me if I would be willing to come talk to her students about what it is like to work in the field. Since I had had to decline her request on a previous occasion due to scheduling issues I glanced at my schedule and committed immediately to being there the Tuesday morning two weeks away. It looked like a perfect fit, until I got to work this week and my supervisor reminded me of our monthly staff meeting that same Tuesday morning. The beautiful thing however was that she was reminding us that the staff meeting though originally scheduled for that Tuesday would be switched to the following Monday.

As I thought about it later that day, I was floored by how God had solved my problem before I even realized there was a problem. It reminded me of the Bible verse that says “Before they call I will answer and while they are still speaking, I will hear.” It is amazing how God intervenes in our situation before we even realize that we need an intervention.

It makes me wonder how many times God has fixed situations in my life without me ever knowing about it. How many disasters has he diverted me from before I ever got near them? How many mistakes has he kept me from making before I even got to the test? It reminds me that God is keenly interested in my life. The Creator of the entire universe is keenly interested in me and takes time out of His earth moving schedule to help me not disappoint my professor or mess up at work. That is amazing to me. And the same keen interest He has in me is the keen interest He has in you. It is a reminder I hope I will keep with me the next time things don’t go how I plan – it will help me to know that God has not forgotten me, but in everything is busy working things out for my good.

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. – Romans 8:26

This entry was posted in church, Daily Happenings, Gospel, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

