You Had Me at Good-bye by Tracey Bateman

I usually stick to urban christian fiction, but I was browsing on Amazon when I saw this book some time ago. I read the summary and decided it was worth a purchase. I was not disappointed.

You Had Me at Goodbye is about Dancy Ames, an aspiring lower level editor trying to climb the corporate ladder to a coveted senior editor position. Too bad she gets canned before it can happen. And not only that, the job she was aiming it goes to a guy who she has a huge crush on. So she does what any self-respecting former editor would do: she writes a book of her own, and the drama ensues.

I love books written in the first person, especially when the protagonist has a great voice that pops off the page at you. Dancy Ames is one of those. And though she is a sad little rich girl, you can’t help but feel bad for her, as she deals with her issues with her mother (which of us doesn’t have a few of those?), her issues with her boss, her attraction to her older brother’s best friend, and all the real and imagined tragedy that comes with life in New York. Though the Christian themes aren’t overt, this book has a satisfying end. I’ve read it twice already. It’s definitely in my top ten.

Let me know if you’ve read it!

This entry was posted in writers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Had Me at Good-bye by Tracey Bateman

  1. Hey Rhonda,
    This made my night. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

